Tags

, , ,

Wow, it’s been a while!  Things got busy around here with the end of the school year, vacation to visit family, playing for a wedding, and hosting a baby shower. All wonderful things, but I haven’t thought about blogging much lately.

This week, though, it’s been full-on summer mode. Beautiful early morning runs, riding my bike around town to do errands, and plenty of lazing around. I’ll have to be more productive at some point, but I’m enjoying the laziness for the moment. I’m getting some reading done and catching up with friends.

Today I want to share my recipe for Fettuccine Alfredo. I made this last night for my brother and sister-in-law and their family. Unfortunately, there are no pictures, because it all got eaten up…which is good, right?

Fettuccine Alfredo

1/4 c. butter
1 c. heavy whipping cream (half & half also works if you want something a little lighter)
1 1/2 c. shredded Parmesan cheese
1/8th teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon seasoned pepper

Melt butter in saucepan over medium heat. Stir in whipping cream and cheese; continue stirring until thickened. Add garlic salt and pepper. Pour over cooked fettuccine.

This recipe makes enough for 8 oz. fettuccine. If you are cooking a whole box of noodles (1 lb), double the recipe.

I had roasted a chicken earlier in the week, so I chopped up most of the meat to add to the sauce so we had chicken alfredo, but you could easily slice up some boneless, skinless chicken breasts, season and saute in some oil. Or shrimp, or whatever floats your boat. I love this recipe because it is really simple and very flavorful. Not especially healthy, but what’s the point of making healthy fettuccine alfredo?

 

Upcoming: a new sewing project is in the works!