Tags

, ,

We will be spending today’s holiday with my husband’s side of the family. Apparently, someone has been paying attention when I post on my Facebook about what I’ve been cooking, because I was asked to make my pumpkin bread and/or beer bread. I felt like baking, so I made both. Pumpkin bread I made last night, but I left the beer bread for this morning since it’s pretty quick to put together. If you’ve never had beer bread…you probably should. It’s kind of amazing.

I got this recipe from one of my colleagues last year; she brought it to one of our many teacher-potlucks. (I’m telling you, if you like to eat, you need to come work at my school.)  Now I’ve made it enough that everyone in my family thinks it’s my recipe, though I dutifully give credit where it is due! Anyways, it’s good, it’s easy, and you should try it.

You will need:

3 cups flour, sifted
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar
1 12-oz bottle beer (the good kind!–says my recipe)
1/4 cup melted butter

1. Preheat the oven to 375 F. Grease a loaf pan (but don’t bother flouring it; I never do and it turns out perfectly. My pan is metal, just for reference. )

2. Sift your flour and mix with the other dry ingredients.

3. Add your bottle of beer.

I used Shock Top. But don’t mistake me for a connoisseur of beer. I think when the recipe says “the good kind” it means, “not Bud Light or the like.” (By the way, I am suddenly very proud of myself for spelling “connoisseur” right on the first try. I was really expecting to see a wavy red line under it.)

I love how it foams up when you pour it in.

4. Mix well.

When you stir the beer in, it gives you something in between a batter and a dough.

5. Scoop the mixture into a loaf pan. Now for the good part.
Remember that melted butter? Oh yeah. This is what makes beer bread so amazing. Pour it all over your dough/batter/mixture.

Look at all those beautiful pools of yellow deliciousness.

6. Stick it in your oven for an hour. This is what the recipe says, but in my oven, I have always baked it for 50 minutes and found that it is done perfectly at this time. So, experiment and see what works for you time-wise.

When it is done, it will look something like this:

Golden and crusty and amazing (see what the butter does? It’s miraculous). It should slip right out of the pan while it is hot. Let it cool for a while before you slice it.

7. For maximum enjoyment, eat it warm, spread with butter. (Because obviously, there wasn’t enough butter in this recipe already.) Or just eat it, ’cause it’s good no matter what.

