Tags

,

Sorry I’ve been “least-in-sight” for a while.

This pretty much sums up my life this month. Last week was my big grade-school Christmas program, and next week is the combined band/choir concert, and in between are numerous community performances for my auditioned, extracurricular choir, plus some stuff where I’m actually performing (for a change). Today was nice because I finally got to stay home and clean house and put up Christmas decorations. I’m basking right now in the glow of candles and multicolored lights. No tree yet, but we’ll be getting one tomorrow when my husband is off work. I’m excited–this will be the first proper tree I’ve had in my own house; it never seemed worth it to go to all the trouble for just me, especially when in past years I went home to my parents’ house during Christmas break anyways.

As far as food goes, I’ve mostly been planning things like crock-pot meals and frozen pizza, to save my sanity. Today, though, since I was home all day, I got a little more creative. Well, I still used the crock pot, but it was delicious anyway!

DSC04270

I hadn’t really intended to make a holiday-style meal, but it sort of just happened, as these things do.

Cider Glazed Ham (from Taste of Home’s Slow Cooker cookbook)
1 3-lb fully-cooked ham
1 3/4 cup apple cider or apple juice
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup dijon mustard
1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons water

Place ham in 5-quart crock pot. In a bowl, combine apple cider or juice, brown sugar, mustard, and honey. Pour over ham. Cook on low for 4-5 hours or until ham is heated through. Remove ham and keep warm. Pour cooking juices into a small saucepan. Combine cornstarch and water until smooth and add to cooking juices. Bring to a boil. Cook and stir 2 minutes or until thickened. Serve with ham.

How is that for simple? It worked beautifully, and I made some cranberry sauce and baked a couple of sweet potatoes to go with it. I mashed the sweet potatoes with a little bit of butter and maple syrup, which was fantastic. The only slight problem is that I forgot that I should make the cranberry sauce waaaay ahead of time so it could set up. Oops. We ate warm-ish, slightly runny cranberry sauce. It was good anyways!

