Tags

, , , ,

Answer: homemade sweet potato fries!

???????????????????????????????

My husband would contend otherwise. His potato-loving soul is always a bit disappointed when the potatoes turn out to be sweet. While I do love regular potatoes in just about every form, it’s fun to switch it up once in a while. And sweet potatoes are one of those few things in this world that are totally good for you and also totally delicious.

I don’t have a specific recipe for these delicious morsels, but they’re perfect for experimenting with your own seasonings and style. Here’s my theory:

1. Wash and peel desired quantity of sweet potatoes. (I used two large ones last night, and they made waaaay more than I expected, especially since I’m probably the only one eating them!)

2. Slice in thin-ish strips. (Cut in half, cut 1/2″ to 1/4″ slices, cut slices into strips.)

3. Place sweet potato strips in a large bowl. Drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat. (Just use enough to coat; don’t overdo it.) Add whatever spices your heart desires. I used garlic powder, Lawry’s Seasoning Salt, and some lemon pepper.

4. Spread in a foil-lined pan of whatever size you need to get them mostly in one layer (I hate washing messy pans) and bake at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes. I took them out of the oven every 15 minutes and tossed them around so they browned a bit more evenly.

5. Eat. Be happy.

Last week I made these with the only sweet potatoes I could find in our small-town grocery store, which were the whitish kind. (Yes, I realize that’s a very scientifically accurate term, but I don’t know what variety they were–only that they weren’t orange.) They tasted pretty much the same as the kind I usually get. They went very well with the pineapple-marinaded pork chops we had for dinner that night:

???????????????????????????????

I used this recipe for the marinade and left the pork chops in it all day while I was at work. When I got home, I browned the meat in a little oil and butter on both sides, then added the rest of the marinade to the pan, covered it and simmered for 15-20 minutes. After taking the meat out I thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. My only regret is that there were only 3 pork chops to cook…

???????????????????????????????

Another plate in the process of being cleaned.

Then, yesterday, I celebrated my birthday with another batch of sweet potato fries (this time, the orange ones you see at the beginning of this post) and this marvelous Italian Drip Beef from the Pioneer Woman. Yummmmm.

(Actually, technically, we celebrated my birthday on Saturday, which was when I made the drip beef. On my actual birthday, I happened to be the only person home at dinnertime…and there happened to be only one serving of meat left…and I just happened to finish it all off. Hey, it was my birthday, after all!)

…so, that’s what I’ve been cooking lately.

