Tags

, ,

Last week we had a night of orange food…it was delicious! My mom sent me this recipe for that delightful old standby, macaroni and cheese. I improved upon it by shredding up some leftover pork roast and adding that (my husband is not a huge fan of meatless meals, and for the most part, I agree with him! Also…there was a lot of pork roast to eat. In fact, it took us a week to finally finish the thing off!) Result: fantastic!

???????????????????????????????

SUPER EASY MAC & CHEESE

Heat oven to 350
Spray a 7×9 or 8×10 casserole dish
In a medium size bowl combine:
1 ¾ cup chicken broth (I used vegetable broth since I had some on hand, and it worked great)
1 cup uncooked elbow macaroni
¾ cup of half & half or evaporated canned milk
2 tbsp butter cut in small bits
2 tsp flour
¼ tsp Lawreys seasoned salt
¼ tsp dry mustard
¼ tsp black pepper
(I used the Lawrey’s salt, a bit of garlic powder, the pepper, and a dash of paprika–I didn’t have any dry mustard)

Stir all this together. Pour in the casserole. Cover with foil. Bake at 350 15 min. Stir. Bake 15 more min. Stir again. Bake 10 min more. Remove from oven.
Stir in 1 ½ cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese until melted.
Serve immediately.

I particularly enjoyed this recipe because it results in a creamier baked mac’n’cheese. I love all forms of mac’n’cheese, but creamy is definitely my favorite. This is nice because you don’t have to cook the macaroni and the sauce separately.

I peeled an orange to go with dinner…this isn’t really a cooking revelation but I have been enjoying the Cara Cara oranges they are selling in our local grocery store right now. They’re a bit reddish (my husband thought it was grapefruit the first time we had one) and really sweet and delicious.

???????????????????????????????

Question: is it weird that I really only like to eat oranges peeled and in segments? It drives me crazy when they are sliced, because I feel like the pulp always gets stuck in my teeth as I try to rip it from the skin. Peeling and segmenting them is more work but I much prefer them this way.

