Tags

, , ,

Spring seems to have arrived a week or so early here in Montana, and I am celebrating with new clothes!  For some time now, I’ve wanted to make up another blouse from this pattern:

???????????????????????????????

Read More…

A few years back, I made this version (view C)  in green seersucker, of which I am quite fond:

???????????????????????????????

Sorry for the crummy picture; it’s 10 pm and I didn’t feel like trying this on for a picture!

Back in February, the quilt shop here in town had a big fabric sale. All the fabric on the sale rack was marked down an additional 50%, which meant that it fell into the realm of totally affordable. (While I will pay the $9-10/yard occasionally, it makes me cringe. $3 is way more my style, especially for a project like this!) I found two lovely fabrics on the sale rack and bought them with two specific patterns in minds–hot pink with swirly green flowers for my blouse, and a brown with blue pattern for my new skirt pattern.

When I got home, I realized that had gotten just under the correct yardage…for BOTH patterns. In typical airheaded fashion, I didn’t check the yardage on either of them–I just sort of presumed it would use a certain amount. Fortunately for me, I was close enough (and pattern companies are generous enough) that both patterns do actually fit on the amount of fabric I purchased–there just isn’t a whole lot of room to spare.

Anyways, this week I finally got around to making up the blouse. One of the most fantastic aspects of this pattern is that it has only 3 pattern pieces: blouse front, back, and sleeve. For someone like me who finds cutting somewhat distasteful, this is a big HALLELUJAH! It’s also super simple to sew–even if you read the wrong instructions and put it together in slightly the wrong order.

Here is the blouse, together with the olive-green skirt I sewed a couple of summers ago:

???????????????????????????????

I’m not sure why I went so wild for this fabric…pink isn’t always my thing. But it called to me.

???????????????????????????????

Forgive the not-too-perfect photos. I’m doing the best I can with my self-timer at 9:30 pm. Also, forgive the dopey look on my face here. Taking decent pictures of yourself is hard.

???????????????????????????????

I got really lucky with this pattern. We’ve already established that I’m a ditz who didn’t check the pattern before I went and bought fabric. Well, I also didn’t check it ever after that, until I sat down to sew, thinking I had everything I needed. I had made this blouse before…it was really simple!!

And then I realized that I needed elastic for the neckline and sleeves, and bias tape for the neckline casing. Lucky, lucky me…I still had half a package of elastic leftover from the last time I made this blouse. I also, remarkably enough, had single-fold bias tape in an appropriate color…how often does THAT happen?  In this case, it was leftover from a failed project. A little while ago, I started to make Colette Patterns’ Sorbetto Top. Somehow, I managed to pick a fabric that is totally wrong for me. I’m not sure why I even bought it, since I know that shade of green makes me look like a hideous zombie. But, I didn’t really see how awful it was until I had the top half-made and put it on to check the fit. This happened to be after I had already gone to the trouble to make bias tape out of the fabric so I could trim the top.

Amazingly, the horrid shirt fabric went quite decently as an accent to my pink-and-green craziness (not that anyone will ever see it but me):

???????????????????????????????

Yes, I do realize that you can see my pink thread coming through around my white bobbin thread…clearly the tension on my machine is not quite right and I am too lazy to worry about it. Don’t judge me.

I also chose to finish my side-seams with French seams. I realize it’s not strictly necessary on a plain cotton blouse like this, but I love the neat look they give to the inside, and I’m not wild about zig-zagging things. (I do it when necessary, but it just doesn’t have that pretty, polished look that French seams do.)

See? Nice and neat.

See? Nice and neat.

If you are interested in learning to do French seams, check out THIS tutorial from Colette Patterns.

I am so enjoying being back on the sewing bandwagon. I have two more projects planned. One is the skirt in this blue/brown fabric:

???????????????????????????????

I’m also planning a Cambie dress. My mom and I went on a fabric-hunting expedition to JoAnn a couple of weeks ago, and I fell irrevocably in love with this fabric:

???????????????????????????????

Do you see? IT HAS FLAMINGOS. It makes me happy just to look at it. I tried to talk myself into something a little less crazy (though I don’t know, is bright turquoise with yellow and pink dots really any less crazy? The other fabric made me think of birthday cake, and it was also very delightful), but I couldn’t help myself…I kept coming back to this one. I really like the colors together, and I just love the idea of wearing flamingos. Yes, I’m kind of weird. But this is the fun of making your own dresses.

If I’m lucky, I might get this done for Easter.  Actually…that’s unlikely, knowing what my schedule looks like for the next two weeks. But I love the idea of wearing flamingos on Easter Sunday.

