Tags

, ,

If you ever ask me what I like to do in my spare time, “reading” would always be one of my top answers. I enjoy cooking, sewing gives me a deep feeling of satisfaction, and I love the peace of taking a walk on a sunny day–but I really, really, love reading. Some days that looks different from others–reading blogs on the internet, or reading newspapers, instead of just sitting down with a book. In fact, in the last several months, I’ve not read nearly as many books as I usually would. I miss that. There are so many wonderful books in the world, and little enough time as it is! I don’t want to waste my time NOT reading….if that makes sense.

I am especially happy when I find a book that involves me utterly–I live in the world of those characters, and I disregard things that are also important, like sleep. And housework (but it’s easy to disregard housework). There is nothing like the feeling of inhabiting a book-world for a few hours. When I resurface, I always feel a bit bereft–I formed mental relationships with all those people, and now they are gone and their story is done!

Yesterday I read another book like that. And, in fact, I did read it all yesterday. I went to the library around noon and checked out What Alice Forgot, by Liane Moriarty (I’d read a few good reviews of it). I finished it (all 450 pages) at 12:30 am (hey, it was a Friday night on spring break!).

The premise is that a woman named Alice (duh) falls and hits her head while at the gym, causing amnesia–she can’t remember the last 10 years of her life. In her mind, she is still the laid-back, carefree newlywed pregnant with her first child, not the busy, stressed, almost-forty mother of 3 preparing to go through a divorce with her husband. I won’t add any more here; if you want to find out more check out the page for the book on Goodreads: What Alice Forgot.

I’m not sure why I liked the story so much; I really don’t read many books set in contemporary times and places. I like historical books, or books written long ago, or fantasy, or books written about other places. But it sucked me in and held me there, and I’m glad I read it.

