Tags

, , , , ,

It’s summer, and it’s hot. Therefore, it’s time to enjoy food which does not require heating up the kitchen a ton! First on my list of such foods is salad. When I was younger, I kind of thought of salad as just a pile of lettuce with ranch. But it can be so much more delicious than that! Just about any kind of vegetable is fair game addition to a salad, and then there are all the other fun little things you can add in–meat, eggs, fruit, nuts, croutons. The possibilities are endless!

I originally bought a package of pre-sliced stir-fry beef intending to actually make stir-fry. But the big bowl of cheeseburger-mac I had when we went out for dinner last night (oooh, it was delicious) weighed heavily on my stomach last night, making me think of all the healthy food I should eat today. (Does anyone else ever do that, or is it just me? Anytime I overeat or have a lot of junk food, I start fantasizing about eating salad. Sometimes I follow through…) So, the idea of stir-fry salad was born. Besides, it’s easier to get good produce this time of year, and the only thing lacking in my fridge was lettuce, which I promptly acquired.

This recipe has 3 parts: the salad, the meat, and the dressing.

1. The Salad

???????????????????????????????

Isn’t it pretty?

 

1 heart of romaine lettuce (or whatever greens you feel like using), torn into bite-size pieces
1/2 cucumber, cut in half and sliced
1/4 onion, sliced thinly
1 carrot, sliced
1 Roma tomato, chopped (confession: I only added this because I had chopped it up for something Mexican yesterday and it didn’t get eaten. I don’t actually like tomatoes in my salads, but I didn’t want it to go to waste!)
4 mini sweet peppers, sliced (or more, because those things are seriously like candy)
1 handful snow peas, chopped in pods (not sure how much a handful is really, I just used what was left in my fridge)
3 hard-boiled eggs, sliced

Toss all ingredients together in a large bowl. If you have other vegetables that you like and think would taste good in salad, add them now.

Side note: My egg slicer is one of my favorite random kitchen gadgets. My mom didn’t have one when I was a kid but I always wanted one because I thought they were SO COOL. I still do. Did you know they work great for mushrooms, too? I have personally only used it for mushrooms once, though, because mushrooms are gross and weird and squishy.

???????????????????????????????

Isn’t that an awesome piece of technology right there?

2. The Meat

 

???????????????????????????????

3/4 lb stir-fry beef

1/2 cup water
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup honey
4 cloves garlic, minced (or 2 teaspoons jarred minced garlic)

Mix marinade ingredients in a small bowl, then pour over beef in a Ziploc bag. Marinade for 15-30 minutes, then discard marinade. Stir-fry meat in hot oil till done.

At this point, if you are like me, eat a few pieces of the meat to make sure it is sufficiently delicious.

 

3. The Dressing

???????????????????????????????

(I was actually looking for recipes for Asian dressing, but I didn’t have most of the ingredients and this sounded delicious, so here we are…)

Link to the dressing recipe I used, since I doubt I could photograph or describe it any better: Fail-Proof Honey Mustard Salad Dressing

 

Now, toss all that deliciousness together. You could put the dressing on all at once, but I want the salad to last in the fridge (I made more than we will eat in one night!) so I left the dressing separate.

???????????????????????????????Finally, drizzle on your dressing and enjoy!

???????????????????????????????

You could also add Craisins, slivered almonds, and croutons…which I usually do add to salads but somehow forgot this time. Whatever floats your boat…that’s the beauty of salad!

