Tags

, , ,

August seems to have flown by. July seemed kind of hot and dragging, but with August came the renewed threat of school, lurking subtly behind every corner, making me want to savor every moment left of summer.

At the beginning of the month I taught a class on sewing a basic skirt at our local quilt shop (see my own versions of said skirt here and here). I had a great time with the other 3 ladies, spending the day cutting, pinning, and stitching! We had hoped for a little larger turnout, but it ended up being kind of a busy weekend for several people. I didn’t mind, actually–it’s easier to work with fewer people at a time! We talked about doing the class again in the fall or winter, to give more people an opportunity to take it. I was really pleased with how the logistics of it worked out–it was no trouble getting our skirts done in the course of one day (we started around 10 and were finishing up around 4). The finished skirts were just lovely…everyone picked great fabric!

DSC04669 - Copy ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????I honestly haven’t sewn a thing since the class…I guess I needed a break! However, I got some store credit for teaching the class, so I might have to plan another project soon.

 

The week after the class my husband and I went camping in our new pop-up camper. We were pretty excited about our purchase and wanted to make sure we tried it out before summer was over. We enjoyed a lovely couple of days at a high mountain lake and also managed to fit in a gorgeous hike.

???????????????????????????????

I think the name “Fairy Lake” fits it beautifully.

???????????????????????????????

I have a slight problem…I can’t see a beautiful body of water without wanting to swim in it. Especially this one–it was so blue, so clear, so perfect. I didn’t stay in long, though…mountain lakes are not known for being particularly warm!

???????????????????????????????

Tove, being the intelligent beast that she is, did NOT go swimming in the lake. Why get unnecessarily cold when you can take a pleasant nap in the shade?

???????????????????????????????

I love Montana.

???????????????????????????????

Hiking.

Mountain goats!

Mountain goats!

As we were preparing to leave, I had a conversation with a lady who was just pulling into the campground with her husband. She told me the campground would soon start filling up with 250+ competitors for the Bridger Ridge Run.  I had never heard of this race so I checked it out when I got home…insane! I like running, but a 20-mile race across the mountains? I’m lucky to do 6 miles, without any mountains involved. I was especially amazed by the thought of running up Sacajawea Peak. We hiked that trail…it’s a pretty steep hike with a lot of switchbacks. It seems to me that racing it would be taking your life in your hands. Some people can handle it, apparently…the winning time was 3 hours 14 minutes.

I celebrated the last weekend before school started by going fishing with my parents. I bought a new fishing pole earlier in the summer, but had yet to actually catch a fish with it.  However, I redeemed my honor last Saturday by catching more than anyone else. It was like a feeding frenzy…I could watch the brookies swarming around my line. I only had to wait a little while to see which one would bite each time. I had pan-fried trout for dinner and for lunch again the next day…delicious.

This week it’s been back to routine and I haven’t done much except work, cook, sleep and read (I’m finishing off my summer reading with a full read-through of all seven Harry Potter books). The first week of school is exhausting; you forget what it feels like to be on your feet and using your voice all day!  However, now we have a 3-day weekend and it looks like I have one more fishing trip in my future, so here’s to the last of summer!

