Tags

, ,

While I love garment sewing best, sometimes it’s fun to do a different kind of project. Our local quilt shop was offering a class today on the Diva Frame Wallet pattern from Sew Many Creations. The samples looked fantastic so I thought it would be fun to join in. Here are the results:

DSCF0570DSCF0572The ladies teaching the class gave us a couple of modifications to the original pattern, like adding the elastic in the middle to hold the pen.

They also suggested adding a lining to the zipper pocket so you wouldn’t be looking at the wrong side of the fabric when it’s unzipped:

DSCF0573The whole project took just 2 fat quarters (though I think you could do it with scraps, for the most part–the biggest piece is 8 1/2″ x 9″), some interfacing, a zipper, and the hardware.

DSCF0574I needed a new wallet anyways. I’ve been using the same boring old brown one for years. This is much more fun!

I can’t comment much on the pattern directions–since I was doing it at the class, everything was demonstrated. But everything went together very easily and only took about 2 hours from start to finish. I imagine it would be even quicker if I did it again.  I might have to try one again sometime using some scraps from my bin of leftovers…heaven knows I have enough!

