Tags

, ,

One item of baby gear I have been interested in from the start is a baby carrier. I love the idea of being able to carry your baby around and still have your hands free if necessary. Everybody wins! Problem is, there are so many options out there. This link talks about the different styles of carriers, without even listing all the different brands, etc. And they are pricey! Most seem to run in the $100 range–some even more. I was not really interested in spending that much, but I wanted to try something.

I was intrigued by the idea of a woven wrap–they’re quite versatile, the only con being you actually have to learn how to tie them. The internet is full of videos and tutorials, though, and I’m pretty sure I can figure it out. However, once again, the price problem–I didn’t want to pay $100 for what is essentially just a big length of fabric, hemmed, no matter how pretty or soft or special the fabric is. This, my friends, is why I own a sewing machine.

After a little bit of research, I headed to JoAnn’s armed with coupons. A brief hunt through the red-tag fabrics yielded a nice linen/cotton blend with a not-too-girly print (important since baby’s sex is still a mystery), and the final damage was….$16. That, to me, is a much more reasonable price for trying something out. If it doesn’t work out, I won’t feel bad. If it does, I got a major deal and I wouldn’t feel so bad about putting more money down on something more expensive if I know I’ll use it.

DSCF1276

I dig the print.

Yesterday afternoon I tackled the massive length of fabric. The process wasn’t difficult at all, just a little unwieldy because of the length of fabric I had to work with. I had bought some extra to allow for shrinkage in the wash, so first I trimmed it down to 5 yards (this is a pretty standard size for most average-sized moms, or so the Internet says), then trimmed the width to 30″. I tapered the ends (like a parallelogram) so they’d be easier to tie, then hemmed the whole thing as narrow as I could.

DSCF1274

You can see the tapered ends here.

DSCF1278

I honestly thought it would take longer (pressing up long hems always seems to take me forever, and this was essentially about 11 yards of hemming), but the whole thing, start-to-finish, took maybe 2 hours.

Of course, I can’t speak yet to the effectiveness of my wrap, but it’s all ready to go and I look forward to trying it out when Baby T arrives!

