Tags

, ,

It’s been a while, internet world. Chalk that up to having a baby. I could elaborate, but isn’t that enough of an excuse?

Basically, I haven’t done a lot of very exciting cooking in the last 4 months, because anything that takes any length of time to cook seems to run into feeding time for the baby and then nobody’s happy.

Today, however, I made an amazing roast, and I want to record for posterity (aka myself, next time I get a hankering for shredded beef taco stuff) exactly what I did because it tasted like heaven. No pictures, because it only occurred to me after everything was cleaned up that I should blog this. And…it’s not really very spicy. But that’s all I’ve got, name-wise.

(Note: I had intended to do all this in the crock pot, but as the child decided that today was not a day for napping, things were a little disjointed all day and I didn’t get to dealing with this hunk of meat until 1:30 pm…which meant oven cooking was in order. I imagine it would work just fine in the slow cooker, though.)

Spicy Shredded Beef

1 3-lb (approx) chuck roast
1/2 jar (16 oz) pepperoncini, with liquid
1 cup beef broth
1/2 cup tomato juice
1/2 yellow onion, thinly sliced
4-5 mini sweet peppers, thinly sliced
1/4 cup chopped hot peppers (mine were some I had frozen from last summer…Anaheim chilis and Hungarian wax peppers and jalepenos, I think)
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tbsp minced garlic

Put chuck roast in Dutch oven or other oven-safe vessel. Add everything else. Cook in oven at 325 4-5 hours, till meat is very tender. (Check occasionally to see that it stays moist, add more liquid if necessary.) Remove from oven and shred with two forks.

Serve with tortillas, sour cream, avocado, salsa, cheese–whatever floats your boat.

This tasted SO GOOD…my husband got annoyed with me because I kept exclaiming over how delicious it was!

Addendum: can I just register my complaint about how expensive chuck roasts are? I love them, they are so versatile and easy to cook and so flavorful, but at over $4/lb most of the time I refuse to buy them. This one I found unexpectedly on sale last week so I nailed it and added it to my meal plan for the week!

