Tags

, , ,

WIN_20150822_153917

I didn’t plant much in my garden this year–really just tomatoes and peppers. There are also some pesky raspberry plants that didn’t bloom this year but are doing their darndest to take over the whole place, and some strawberries that were all set to be wonderful in June, before we got our bizarre midnight hailstorm that pretty much knocked them out. It also shredded my just-planted tomatoes and peppers, but I was able to replant, so they were ok. That set my tomatoes back a bit, but as long as they ripen before everything freezes I will be happy–they are thriving and loaded down with fruit! As you can see, my Anaheim chilies are also looking awesome.

Since I got my first ripe tomato today, I decided it was time to cook something from my garden. My mom gave me her recipe for stuffed hot peppers last year, and I never had a chance to use it, but those three big chilies looked perfect for stuffing. I am sorry to say that there are no photos of the finished dish–it was delicious and I had already eaten half a plate-full before I thought of taking photos, and then I just didn’t care.

The recipe calls for 4 large peppers to stuff–I had 3 and plenty of extra stuffing, so I used the remainder to stuff some small sweet peppers, which were also very tasty.  I was afraid it might be too spicy (I’m kind of a wuss), but it wasn’t at all. I guess it just depends on the heat of the peppers you use!

Stuffed Hot Peppers

1/8 c. chopped jalapeno or other hot pepper (I just used one jalapeno, didn’t measure)
1/8 c. chopped onion
1/2 c. chopped, peeled, drained fresh tomato (I did not peel mine because that seemed like too much work. I don’t think it affected the finished product!)
1/4 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/4 c. soft cream cheese
1 c. (1/3 lb) cooked, seasoned hamburger

Mix all together in a bowl.

4 fat peppers, 6″ or so (Banana, Hungarian Wax, Anaheim Chili, large Jalapeno, whatever floats your boat)–cut off tops and slice lengthwise. Remove seeds and ribs. Stuff with above mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until hot through and nicely melty. You can also melt some cheese on top at the end.

Eat ravenously.

